15 April 2008

Taxonomy, Part 4

Okay, so it time for some definitions.

The Tiers

Tier 1: Assimilation
Assimilation covers the acquisition and comprehension of information, knowledge, and skills. Students will be able to evidence competence through the simple presentation of knowledge or learned skills.
Tier 2: Adaptation
Adaptation moves beyond simple acquisition and comprehension. Students will be able to apply their knowledge and skills to real world tasks that require them to be able to adapt their knowledge base or skill set to meet the demands of a given context. Students will be able to contribute constructively to the field.
Tier 3: Creation
Students will be able to make significant contributions to the field through the synthesis of new information, knowledge, skill sets, or understandings and interpretations of prior art. Students will be able to make significant contributions to the field through innovation and advancement.

The Domains

The domains are heavily interdependent, and thus are for point of reference. No skills or knowledge sets (beyond the act of rote memorization) will ever require advancement in just one domain.

Factual knowledge is the learning of simple facts. It is also the application of those facts to simple presentation or application of skills.
Conceptual knowledge is the ability to think through problems and analyze issues and topics.
Procedural knowledge refers to knowing how to do something. This might be the steps in a physical task or in a complicated math problem.
Social knowledge is the ability to function in society. At its simplest form, it is accepting the cultural norms of one's society. At more complicated levels, it involved thinking reflexively about such topics as ethics, morality, and social mechanisms.
Kinesthetic refers to physical components of learning. For instance, how to play a musical instrument, hold a paint brush, or operate a machine, or play a sport.

There, that is a better start. Complete with a corrected typo.

No comments: